As part of a joint effort with Gwinnett County and the City of Lawrenceville, the 1940’s era building was saved to preserve the school’s legacy. A new exhibit unfolds the rich and often untold history of the only facility that African-American students from across Gwinnett County attended until desegregation occurred in the late 1960’s. The story begins on the upper level and continues in chronological order to the lobby floor where visitors encounter the historic structure and take a glimpse into what life was like for teachers, students and the African-American community. The interior of the old building is adapted into the interior of the new library while at the same time retaining the historic features. The original wood ceiling is exposed still bearing the marks of those who built it. The unique structural brick provides a warm, comfortable interior environment with lots of character.